Hungary (Hungarian: Magyarország ) is a unitary parliamentary republic in Central Europe. It covers an area of 93,030 square kilometres (35,920 sq mi), situated in the Carpathian Basin, and is bordered by Slovakia to the north, Romania to the east, Serbia to the south, Croatia to the southwest, Slovenia to the west, Austria to the northwest, and Ukraine to the northeast. With about 10 million inhabitants, Hungary is a medium-sized member state of the European Union. The official language is Hungarian, which is the most widely spoken Uralic language in the world. Hungary's capital and its largest city and metropolis is Budapest, a significant economic hub, classified as a leading global city. Major urban areas include Debrecen, Szeged, Miskolc, Pécs and Győr. Hungary is one of the most successful post-communist countries in Europe, having made a gradual shift from socialism to democracy and free market economy. However, the country has been experiencing certain challenges since the Global Recession. Since 2010, Hungary is led by Prime Minister Viktor Orban of the Fidesz (Civic Union) party. In its last election in 2014, Fidesz received 44.54% of the vote.

The current government focuses on the revival of the national idea, which they see as threatened by international liberalism. The main course of Hungary at the moment is to further strengthen the power and national self-awareness of citizens under the auspices of national conservatives. The country has already experienced a radical restructuring of state institutions, personnel changes in the field of state administration, constitutional and legislative changes.

It is also worth noting that Hungary is one of the very few Eurosceptic countries in Eastern Europe, as is evident by its government’s protests against EU’s refugee policy. Hungary also openly doubts the effectiveness of anti-Russian sanctions.

© 2017 Civic Nation
Created by – NBS-Media